Byron Energy is the operator and 50-100% working interest holder of a number of blocks in the Gulf of Mexico prospective for oil and gas.

Byron Energy is an independent oil and natural gas exploration company, headquartered in Australia, with operations in the shallow water offshore Louisiana in the Gulf of Mexico. The executive team is experienced with a track record of growing shareholder wealth in the region.

Our success stems from being at the forefront of technology, particularly in seismic interpretation. Shares in the company were listed on ASX under the code BYE until 17 July 2024.

Byron Energy Limited (BYE) was removed from the Official List of the ASX on Wednesday, 17 July 2024 under Listing Rule 17.11, at the request of BYE, after a successful shareholder resolution.

Summary of Events

9 May 2024 – BYE requested a trading halt in relation to an application to be removed from the official list of the ASX.

15 May 2024 – BYE announces that it has formally applied to the ASX requesting its removal from the official list of the ASX in accordance with ASX Listing Rule17.11. The announcement contained, inter-alia:

  • Reasons for seeking removal from the Official List;
  • Consequences of Delisting for the Company and its shareholders
  • Timetable

15 May 2024 – Notice of Extraordinary General Meeting for 14 June 2024, sent to shareholders.

14 June 2024 – Extraordinary General Meeting was held with more than 90% in favour of the resolution to delist from the ASX.

15 July 2024 – The securities of BYE were suspended from quotation under Listing Rule 17.2, at the request of BYE, to facilitate its removal from the official list of ASX.

17 July 2024 – BYE was removed from the Official List of the ASX under Listing Rule 17.11, at the request of BYE, after security holders resolved to remove BYE from the Official List.

For more information on this and other information, please see the ASX Announcements section within Investors section of the website.


Our Team

Non-Executive Chairman

Doug Battersby

Executive Director & CEO

Maynard Smith

Executive Director & COO

Prent Kallenberger

Executive Director

William Sack


Charles Sands


Paul Young


Read Our Complete Story

Close Menu